Is Jello Gluten Free?

Gelatin based deserts have been a part of the western culture for about two hundred years. They are fairly simple, using a mix of gelatin, sugar or artificial sweetener and other ingredients to make fun and appealing little treats loved by children and adults alike.

The gelatin products are currently made by a number of food processing companies, most famously Aeroplane Jelly, Heart’s and Kraft Foods. The products can be found in basically every supermarket in the western hemisphere. The original products extracted gelatin from calf’s foot and added aromas, sugar and coloring to turn the otherwise disgusting gelatin into a delicious and fun dessert. Jello is possibly one of the most processed foods in our diets. The desserts are made by melting gelatin in hot water and then adding various ingredients like sugar, sweeteners, aromas, additives and coloring to make the product appealing to our visual senses and to the tongue.

Preparation Of Gelatin Desserts

While pretty much every gelatin product is the same in its composition and way it is made, numerous molds are used to shape the end products to be distinctive and then packaged in different boxes for product recognize ability, a product of modern day market in which companies compete to sell their product ahead of others.

Jell-O Shots

While children and adults alike enjoy jello for the desserts it is, adults have found ways to make this fun food way more fun by adding alcohol to it. The famous Jell-O Shots, despite what many will say, are very easy to make. Simply mixing some Jell-O powder, boiling water and strong alcohol like vodka can give you jello shots within minutes. Mix it up in a big bowl and then distribute into plastic shooters. If you are making a house party this is an excellent way to add some diversity and fun and still get hammered.

Is Jello Glutten Free a set of jello shots.

Nutrients In Jello

A serving of 100 grams of Jell-O, a famous gelatin dessert, contains about 400 calories, 10 grams of protein and as much as 100 grams of carbohydrates. Now, of course, 100 grams of this product is plenty and we usually use lesser servings. From a nutritional standpoint, it is a reasonable source of carbs and protein while seriously lacking in any other departments including vitamins and minerals. The product, apart from gelatin, contains almost exclusively additives and aromas which have little nutritional value.

Living in the modern western world, the question is Jello gluten free will often pop up. We have done research on the presence of gluten in Jello and other gelatin-based products.

Is Jelly Gluten Free?

Jelly or Jello as all gelatin based desserts are usually referred to in everyday conversations is, in fact, gluten free. Gelatin, like all other usual ingredients in such products, does not contain gluten. There are absolutely no grains used in the production of jelly.

However, it is not all that simple. If you are only mildly sensitive to gluten, you are unlikely to suffer from any real problems as a result of eating jelly. Yet if you are suffering from celiac disease or are otherwise very gluten intolerant, you may have a problem. While jelly itself should not contain any gluten, its ingredients all being gluten free, the products are often made in factories that also process wheat, which means they may come into contact with gluten through other products and may end up being slightly contaminated.

If you are suffering from a serious condition of gluten intolerability you should not have jelly or any kind of gelatin based desserts in your diet.

Is Jelly Gluten Free various colour jello cubes.

Is Sugar-Free Jello Gluten Free?

Sugar-free jello and gelatin desserts are variations of these products that do not include sugar as one of its ingredients. Coming in a wide range of flavors and aromas, these products have become increasingly popular due to replacing sugar with artificial sweeteners, which makes them less rich in carbohydrates, similar to sugar-free sodas and other popular products.

Like normal jelly, sugar-free jelly is also in essence gluten free. However, in the same way, the normal jelly can come in contact with gluten, so too the sugar-free jelly can become contaminated during the production process. Be just as careful as with regular jelly.

is jello gluten free

Is Jello Instant Pudding Gluten Free

The Jell-O Instant Pudding by Kraft is another one of the delicious jelly based products. I have seen many people asking around if this product is gluten free and once again I can say, in principal yes, it is absolutely gluten free. None of the ingredients of the Jell-O Instant Pudding contains gluten and there are absolutely no grains in it whatsoever.

The only possible sources of contamination can come from plants the product is made in or your own kitchen if you expose your pudding to other gluten containing foods.

In Conclusion

Jello is one of the most commonly used ingredients in many cakes and other sweet deserts. Despite coming from a seemingly unappealing source of gelatin, when mixed up with the aromas and flavors, it offers a real delight to the senses and is very fun and pleasing esthetically.

The debate about gluten in jelly is really not even supposed to be happening, as there is clearly no ingredients containing gluten in it. The reason some celiacs may experience some issues will always be due to contamination of jelly by other sources of gluten. Read your labels and make sure not to expose your jelly to gluten containing stuff like flour and you should be safe. Still, if you are extremely gluten intolerant, avoid jelly as it may have been exposed to gluten at the plant.

Image Rights

Images used via creative commons – https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/

Image one by UCFFool – https://www.flickr.com/photos/ucffool/6091097268/

Image two by Steven Depolo – https://www.flickr.com/photos/stevendepolo/3787431220/

Image three by Rackesh Rocky – https://www.flickr.com/photos/22905496@N07/15405315798/

Check Also

Does Soy Sauce Have Gluten?

Soy sauce is an important ingredient in a great number of dishes and certain cuisines, …

Google Analytics Alternative